Old Curriculum

The National Curriculum, is made up of blocks of years, known as key stages:

Key Stage 1

Ages 5-7

Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2

Ages 7-11

Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

Compulsory National Curriculum subjects are the same for Key Stages 1 and 2:
  • English
  • Maths
  • Science

  • Design and technology

  • Computing

  • History

  • Geography

  • Art and design

  • Music

  • Physical education

Schools also have to teach religious education, though parents have the right to withdraw children for all or part of the religious education curriculum.

In addition, schools are advised to teach personal, social and health education (PSHE) and citizenship, together with at least one modern foreign language.